Sunday, January 8, 2012

The Lost County of Tennessee

County of James
The Lost County of Tennessee
"Created out of rivalry of politcal factions during the reconstruction period following the Civil War. James County consisted of parts of Hamilton and Bradley counties. Plagued by political strife and supported mainly by farmers unable to provide an adequate tax base, its forty-eight year history ended in bankruptcy and its territory became a part of Hamilton County."

This historic marker is located in front of the old James County Courthouse in Ooltewah, Tennessee. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977 by the James County Historical Society.

No comments:

Post a Comment